Skip to content Menu

The Department of Education has selected four universities as recipients of the 2019 Green Ribbon Schools award for achievements in the areas of sustainability and health.

The Green Ribbon Schools program criteria includes reduced environmental impact and costs, improved health and wellness, and effective environmental education. This year, 35 schools, 14 school districts, and four universities were recognized.

The four postsecondary Green Ribbon Schools this year are all NACUBO members:                           

  • Troy University
  • Georgia College & State University *
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • Millersville University of Pennsylvania *

*These institutions are or have been represented on NACUBO’s Sustainability Advisory Panel. Posters about these campuses’ successes will be on display at the NACUBO 2019 Annual Meeting, and their vice presidents will be available to discuss them on Sunday, July 14 from 11:30 am – noon.

Have a question?

Ask the Expert

For NACUBO Members Only

Learn More

Related Content

2020 Sustainable Energy Factbook Released

The 2020 Sustainable Energy in America Factbook indicates progress in energy efficiency and renewable energy over the last decade.

New EPA Report Includes Solar and Wind Energy Use in Higher Education

While the use of on-site renewable energy systems for commercial buildings has greatly increased in the last decade, higher education still appears to be lagging behind its counterparts in sustainable energy generation.

Sierra Magazine Releases 2020 Cool Schools List

A record-high 312 colleges and universities ranked on this year’s list of top Cool Schools. As in past years, NACUBO member institutions dominate the top 10.